Q. As-salamalaikum – I am Abdul Samir – I am a student. In the Qur’an it is stated. that – ‘the hearts of the unbelievers are sealed’. But according to Science… ‘it is the brain that thinks, and not the heart’ – Your comment please.

A. (Dr.Zakir): The brother has posed a question – the Qur’an says that… ‘the unbelievers hearts have been sealed by Allah (SWT)’. Today science tells us… ‘it is the brain that thinks and not the heart’ – and I do agree with him. So isn’t the Qur’an unscientific, when it says that… ‘the hearts have been sealed’. And I do agree that Qur’an says in several places, including Surah Bakarah, Ch. 2, Verse No. 7 that… ‘Allah has sealed the hearts of the kafir people’. Its says… ‘that the seal has been put on the hearts’.

If you know, the Arabic word used here, is ‘Kalb’. The Arabic word ‘Kalb’ has got two meanings – one is ‘heart’, and the other is ‘intelligence’. If you translate correctly the Verse says… ‘Allah has sealed the intelligence of the unbelievers’. And it is scientifically proven, that ‘intelligence’ has to be sealed – not the organic heart. There was a person , who once posed me a question. Brother Zakir, I agree with you that ‘Kalb’ means ‘heart’ as well as ‘intelligence’. But one Verse in the Qur’an says… their ‘hearts’ are behind the breast – Then what you have to give the answer for that? And he was quoting a verse of the Qur’an from Surah Hajj, Ch. 22, Verse No. 46, which says… ‘that their eyes are not blind – it is their heart which is  in their breast which is blind’.

So Qur’an says… ‘the eyes are not blind – It is the heart which is within their breast which is blind’. Today Science tells us… ‘Eyes see, heart cannot see’  – So isn’t this Verse unscientific?. Here the translation has to be ‘heart’ – it cannot be ‘intelligence’. So I tell him – I agree with you that heart has got two translations, but the word used for  breast is ‘Sadar’. Sadar also has got 2 meanings  – One is ‘Breast’ and the other is ‘Centre’. You know how we have the head of a institution – We say ‘Sadar’ of the institution. That is how we have ‘Centre’… if we have been to Pakistan. How in India we have ‘Chowk’ – over there they have ‘Centres’. ‘Sadar’ so and so… ‘Sadar’ so and so, in Pakistan – ‘Centre’ so and so. ‘Sadar’ also means ‘Centre’. So the correct translation is… ‘the eyes is not which is blind it is the intelligence which is within their centre which is blind’. Say I started in my talk by quoting, the Verse of the Holy Qur’an from Surah Taha, Ch. 20, Verse No. 25 and 28 which says… ‘Rabbi Shruhali Sadre’. ‘O my Lord increase my breast for me’. ‘Rabbi Shruhali Sadre, Vayas Sirli Amre, Vahalul ugdatamilesahani Yafkahokhouli’. This was a dua made by Moosa-ale Salam , when he was asked by Allah (SWT) to go and deliver the message to the people. He asked Allah… ‘O my Lord increase my breast for me’. So ‘Breast’ is not the correct the translation. What is the ‘Breast’, going to do with the message. It means… ‘O my Lord increase my centre for me’. ‘Rabbi Shuharli Sadre vayas sirli Amre’. ‘And make my task easy for me’. ‘Vahalul Ugdatamileshani Yafkhahokhouli’. ‘And remove the impediment from my speech so that they will understand me’. As do you know Moosa-Ale-Salam was a stammerer. And if you know whether fortunately or unfortunately, even I happened to be a stammered – in childhood  I was a stammerer. Therefore in the beginning of every talk , and even in the beginning of this talk, I said…and  I made dua to Allah (SWT). ‘Rabbi Shuharli Sadre… O my Lord increase  my centre for me’- I am asking help from Allah (SWT). Increase my centre, and remove the stuttering  in my speech. Even today when I don’t speak on the stage ,  I yet stutter – It is Allah who helps me out on the stage. ‘Rabbi Shruhali Sadre’. O my Lord increase my centre for me, make my task easy for me and remove the barrier from my speech, and between me and the audience, so that they will understand me. Therefore scientifically… scientifically if you analyse the words of Surah Hajj, Ch. 22, Verse No.46, it says…‘It is not their eyes which are blind – it is their intelligence which is within their centre is blind’. Because they are not blind – The unbelievers can see – Saying… ‘they are blind’, is unscientific . Like the Qur’an says in Surah Bakarah, Ch. 2, Verse No. 18. It says…  It says… ‘that  deaf, dumb the blind, they will not return to the path’. ‘Summoon, Bukmoon, Ummyoon Fa Lahum layar jeoon’. ‘the deaf, the dumb, the blind, they will not return to the path’. It is not talking about physical deaf people – It is talking about the unbelieveres, who hearing they cannot hear, seeing the signs of Allah, they do not accept  the Qur’an. So Qur’an is more scientific. It says correctly… ‘they can see, the eyes are not blind – It is their intelligence within their centre which is blind’.

Comments will be moderated before appearing... Kindly do not post questions here, this is an un-official website and we cannot answer on behalf of Dr Zakir Naik.

