Q. I am an engineering student and my final year examination lies in the month of Ramadan. My parents advised me not to fast during Ramadan as it may affect my examination results. Am I exempted from fasting on this basis?

A. (by #DrZakirNaik): A person who does not want to fast only because of the examination it is not a valid reason. Even though it may be a final exam and maybe the parents may coax that “Don’t fast because if you fast your concentration may go down and you will not achieve good results”. Even if parents force at this point of time the child (son or daughter) should not listen to the parents. Because if you parents tell you something which is against the teachings of Allah and his Rasool that’s the only time where they can disobey their parents. Because that is not a legitimate reason that because the examination is there they do not want to fast so that they would get good marks. Getting marks in the Aakhira, doing our farayidh are more important. And Allah says in the Quran in Surah Al-Imran Ch. 3 V. 160, “If Allah helps you none can overcome you, if Allah forsakes you then who is there then who can help you. So let the believers put their trust in Allah”. So my advice is even if there is an examination let them fast, insha’allah the concentration will be better and they will get better marks insha’allah.

One thought on “Q. I am an engineering student and my final year examination lies in the month of Ramadan. My parents advised me not to fast during Ramadan as it may affect my examination results. Am I exempted from fasting on this basis?

Comments will be moderated before appearing... Kindly do not post questions here, this is an un-official website and we cannot answer on behalf of Dr Zakir Naik.

